Originally named Reading’s Ferry, after the proprietor of the original ferry at this point, the town’s bridge connects to Stockton. In 1923, the original wooden toll bridge was struck by lightning and destroyed by fire. Edward Willis Redfield, who lived in a farmhouse just north of the bridge, later depicted it in a famous painting.
Centre Bridge Inn, also rebuilt after several fires, sits at the crossroads of River Road, Routes 32, and 263, as it has for 200 years. Visitors can enjoy fine dining with a view at the inn, or grab a burger and milkshake on the patio across the street at local favorite Dilly’s at Centre Bridge.
From Lambertville to New Hope, Frenchtown to Stockton, Milford to Washington Crossing, there’s much to discover.